Unlocking the Mind

   We’re already on week eight of out blog posts and it really feels like it has only been a fraction of that time. This semester has flown by and our final projects are on the horizon which means it is time I start to briefly discuss the book I’ll be reviewing. Seeing as how I like to focus on wellness and the human body in my blog posts I thought it would only make sense that I read a book that zoned in on those same concepts. The book I’ve decided to read is titled The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the Mind by Michio Kaku. Upon initially stumbling on this book I found that the titled was both vague and specific enough that it left me wanting to know more. I mean what could “enhance the mind mean”? Does it simply mean improving simply cognitive tasks like memory or problem solving, or could it present an even mope farfetched possibility of unlocking some unknown abilities that our brain possess? Yes, I’m refereeing to telekinesis or mind reading abilities that have too often been portrayed in science fiction movies and make us chuckle at the thought of actually being realistic. I felt silly even thinking that a book based on scientific research could be based solely on pseudoscience.

However, the more I researched the book the more I realized I was exactly right and the author of this book was proposing just that. Michio Kaku has focused his research, and several other books, on his belief that, “one day we may achieve the ability to upload the human brain to a computer, neuron for neuron; project thoughts and emotions around the world on a brain-net; take a “smart pill” to enhance cognition; send our consciousness across the universe; and push the very limits of immortality.” Though it may sound silly upon first read, Dr. Kaku backs his claims with research and has had large support from the scientific community as a whole. Don’t believe him? Give it a look for yourself! His page, which can be found here, provides access to all of his books though you may want to pick up a slightly cheaper copy here. Regardless, I feel the book has the makings of an interesting read and an eye opening look at the world of science for those of us with open arms to a new perspective.

 

Leave a Reply

